Academic Distinction Scholars

The history of the Catholic Church is filled with religious and saintly heroes who as philosophical scholars have sought truth through knowledge. One such example is Fr. Pierre Teilhard de Chardin, S.J. who was a Jesuit theologian, anthropologist, geologist and paleontologist who studied both evolution and our Christian faith. Teilhard de Chardin (1881-1955) was an intellectual whose life included the priesthood; serving as a member of the French armed forces in World War I; field work exploring the early origins of the human race; and assumed adventurous travels of discovery in the backlands of China. He was what one might have called a 20th century renaissance man.

Although his unpublished writings were sometimes the source of criticism, his prophetic vision inspired theologians and scientists alike. And even 64 years after his death, his written work continues to draw connections between God, creation and His people. Fr. Pierre writes: “We, mankind, contain the possibilities of the earth's immense future, and can realize more and more of them on condition that we increase our knowledge and our love.” As I reflect on this poignant analysis and its view of the power of human potential, I am struck by the two bookends referenced by Teilhard de Chardin. Through the lens of faith, we are able to more clearly understand the dominion of love and the power of knowledge. And by design, these two foundations endure as focal points within the ministry of our Catholic school.

The St. Agnes educational program teaches our young people that a love for God and a commitment to serve others provides a growing knowledge of the world around them. This realization allows our students to discover the immeasurable possibilities which exist through the divine blessing of God’s creations. As principal, I continue to take great pride in the work that our budding intellectuals offer each day and all for the Greater Glory of God (A.M.D.G.). To this point, I would like to congratulate the following group of middle school scholars who achieved Honor Roll recognition at our academic distinction assembly which was held last Tuesday:

Principal’s List: 8th Grade - Owen Benefiel, James Czlonka, Sophia McCaul, Madison Paradela, Tsion Solomon; 6th Grade – Virginia Joyce

First Honors: 8th Grade – Carlos Acosta, Christopher DeGroote, T.J. Graham, Christian Smith, Seamus Smith; 7th Grade – Jamil Conley, Finn Smith, Brock Nicholson, Nathan Perez; 6th Grade – Ryan Johnson, Ryan Paradela, Ana Pierce, Kennedy Sharp, Lanaii Stewart

Second Honors: 8th Grade – Joseph D’Ambrosio, Cecilia Liberto, Jamison Washington, Ryan Wilson; 7th Grade – Nathan Perez; 6th Grade – Tyler Holloman, Julian Jones, Dylan Payne

What a joyous week at St. Agnes School! We are truly blessed!!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts